Sunday, July 6, 2014


Tzaphkial - Anahata Chakra, Kundalini, ...Luciferi...
Self-Released, 1994
Genre: Black Metal

1. Post-Life (Intro)
2. Arcane XII
3. Bagahi Laca... (Intro)
4. Ens Seminis Seed
5. Sadhaka
6. Zero Anno Satanas (Outro)
7. Catoptromancia (Intro) (Rehearsal)
8. Ens Seminis Seed (Rehearsal)

Here's a curious piece of Black Metal from the early 90's of France. The musician behind Tzaphkial would go on to do some truly great things. Many people out there know of Arkhon Infaustus, Osculum Infame, and Bekhira... well Tzaphkial is the solo project of this well known project before his Black Metal career really started to take off. Despite his involvement with Osculum Infame around the same time, it seems he produced this demo tape off to the side. It comes with a xeroxed cover with a mutli-panel booklet and a dubbed tape. It also features the picture of a naked women covered in blood.

Like the later Mütiilation material Abrahel resorts to using a drum machine for this tape since he is not a drummer. At times the program drums make it sound comical and extra amateurish, because the drum programs available at this time were not very good at all. The music feels kind of random. There are intros throughout the release making for a somewhat confusing listen and breaking up the music in such a way that it feels more incoherent than anything else. This feels closer to an LLN styled project than anything else, which isn't surprising given the location of the musician. I feel like the material isn't nearly as disturbing and strange as that produced in the LLN, so it lacks that interesting novelty behind it. Even for 1994 I don't think this was anything outstanding and this demo could probably be passed up.

If you're a huge fan of the projects this musician worked on then this is probably worth hearing on some level. My curiosity really got the better of me since his name was on it. Maybe some people that just fiend for ultra raw material will find merit in this too, but even on that level I just didn't think the songwriting was really there. An interesting historical artifact at the very least...

No comments:

Post a Comment